What are the Competency Standard Stage 2 for Professional Engineers?

Competency Standard Stage 2 for Professional Engineer

To achieve a Chartered Status of Professional engineer, the applicant must go through an assessment process of Competency Standard Stage 2.  The Stage 2 Competency Standard reflects the applicant’s knowledge, skill, engineering application abilities, and technical qualifications, principles and disciplines that an applicant must display to work individually or unaccompanied. As the name suggests, Chartered professionals are at the highest level of professional competencies through many years of hard-works, skills, and experience gained. So to get recognised as a Chartered Professional Engineer by Engineers Australia, your skills are put on a test in various areas of expertise. 

Purpose of Competency Standard Stage 2

The gateway for Chartered membership of Engineers Australia (CPEng) and National Engineering Register (NER) is competency standard stage 2 assessment. These professions are recognised by the government and worldwide. You will be obliged to maintain competency in your area of expertise. 

As a professional Engineer, you will be expected to deliver various competency according to your experience. Let us discuss the important parts of the competencies. 

  1. Learn the requirements of the consumers, stakeholders, and society as a whole.
  2. Aiming to expand the growth of economic, social and environmental aspects over a lifetime of engineering products.
  3. Cope with other professions from diverse backgrounds
  4. Indicate that the engineering input is fully incorporated into the overall project or program.
  5. Interpreting technical possibilities for culture, industry, and government
  6. Ensuring that prices, risks, and limits are fully understood about the outcomes
  7. Ensuring that technological and non-technical aspects are adequately balanced 
  8. Managing risk and maintaining long-term viability
  9. Ensuring that all facets of a project, method, or procedure are built on sound logic and basic values 
  10.  Simply identifying how emerging technologies apply to old ones

The work of Professional Engineers overlooks the communications between human and technology. They provide a great deal of contribution to the science of engineering and improve the practice of engineering. The Stage 2 Competency Standards apply to all the engineering practices that are divided into four basic units. 

  • Personal Commitment
  • Obligation to the community 
  • Value in the workplace
  • Technical proficiency

Pathways for Competency Standard

Applicants can apply for Stage 2 competency through the following pathways. These are the pathways to prepare your genuine report that will reflect the knowledge you have gained to date. 

  1. Professional Development Program (PDP)
  2. Engineering Competency Report (ECR)
  3. Mature Experience Engineer (MEE)
  4. Mutual Recognition Agreement (MRA)

Document requirements for Competency Standard Stage 2

Competency Standard Stage 2 Document requirementsApplicants will need to go through a series of document submission for acquiring Chartered recognition. These are the documents that will be required to qualify for a Professional Engineer. 

  1. Engineering Competency Claims (ECCs)
  2. Continuing Professional Development (CPD) Record
  3. Engineering Experience Record (EER)
  4. An up to date CV

Engineering Competency Claims (ECCs)

Engineering Competency Claims (ECC) requires you to mention your core competencies along with the work experience. Your involvement in the technological field of engineering is reflected through Engineering Competency Claims. The total number of Competency claim to be submitted depends on the type of pathway you choose. For example, you need a total of sixteen engineering competency claims for the ECR pathways. 

Continuing Professional Development (CPD) Record

Continuing Professional Development (CPD) shows your skill sets and knowledge in the engineering field you claimed. It is an important part of the National Engineering Registration (NER) application. You have to show how much of the CPD hours you’ve accomplished in the past three years. It includes the details on your commitment towards the engineering product, technological efficiency, standards you reflect in the workplace. 

Engineering Experience Record (EER)

This document includes all your work experience records. You have to mention the employer’s name under which you’ve worked. You also have to mention the job roles and responsibilities performed during your employment period. The word limit for Engineering Experience Record (ERR) is about 700 words.

Up to date CV

You have to upload the latest Curriculum Vitae/ Resume for your Stage 2 assessment application.  Include your recent work experience history along with the one you are currently involved in. It must be simple and written in a precise manner. 

CDRwritersAustralia for your assistance

You can rely on us for preparing your documents for Competency Standard Stage 2 assessment. We have experts on our teams with experience in the field of preparing such a report. Whether it is about preparing your Engineering Competency Claims, Engineering Experience Record, Continuing Professional Development or even a Resume, we are here to guide you through the whole process so your assessment can go on without any hindrance. 


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *